I can't wait to get back to school.
To all you guys just starting out school next semester, treasure it!! Go do all the things that you've never thought you'd do. Go on overseas exchange, overseas attachment, go play things u've never played before, join silly races around singapore and jump down a bridge into the river, go do reverse bungeee, volunteer to india, to cambodia, to wherever!! and the list goes on.. hahaha...
Yes and the people you meet in shcool are definitely different from the people you meet at work. I mean, look at all of us. it's hard to find good new friends in the office that's for sure. We're more 'innocent' (note the quotations) and more comfortable with each other. At least I'm more comfortable with you all than i'd ever be with the people in the office.
Yes, so please go and play during uni, it IS the best time of your life, if you want it to be of course.. haha.. oei but dun be silly, must pass exams lah of course..haha.. no need to say.. but what i'm saying is there are lots of other things out there and once you start slaving for the $dollar God$, there's high chance that you'd miss out on a lot of other fun things. So, while we're all working hard and pushing for that honours, it won't hurt to have a bit of fun in between.
One of the things my big boss told me: yes good grades may be good to open the doors for you, but it doesn't mean you'll keep the job. If you have 3 degress, straight As and a genius in the theories of economics and maths, but can't perform in my office, in 6 months i'll tell you to go back to university because clearly you're very academically talented, and you shd stay in the academics world. you are not good enough for this bank.
i was like.. fwah... fierce.
and CCAs are important too.. what you joined is not really important, but by joining things actually shows certain characteristics that they're looking for, time management, multi-taskin skills for example. If you join a leading position in, say students union. read: team leader. You go for competitions, read: aggressive, and good sportsmanship. You play sports, read: team player. Go to a polio ridden ulu country. read: risk taker?
things like that.
That's what i learnt in my 10 wk attachment. haha.. oh and they've really got no respect for age, especially in an american company. Like for example someone has 20 yrs of exeperience, it's useless if it's 1 yr of experience repeated 20 times. so you as a fresh graduate are on a level playing field. yup, and if ur in the finance/banking industry, join a foreign bank!! it's definiely leaner and meaner than a local bank, but i guess the competition is healthy (and the pay is WAY more). when i asked my boss abt posb/dbs, he was like... dun waste ur time..haha..especially if you're not a scholar and want to make it big.. oops..
haha..okay that's all folks. see ya!